Margherita Chicken Breast

Standard

margherita chicken

I thought I would get on the grill one more time before we get hit with another Spring “Blizzard” today! So, last night I made this yummy chicken breast on the grill! I served it with steamed broccoli and cottage cheese. My picture doesn’t do it justice! We were so excited to eat that I completely forgot to snap a picture of them when they came off the grill. This is what was left after we ate! (So… sorry!!) I will have to make it again soon so I can get another picture. Anywho, here’s the recipe… (which I adapted from another recipe out of a Healthy Cooking mag from Taste of Home).

16 oz chicken breast (4-4oz pieces)

1/2 cup balsamic vinaigrette

4 tblsp marinara sauce

8 basil leaves

1 cup chopped artichokes from a can drained

1 roma tomato sliced into 8 slices

1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Place chicken breasts and balsamic vinaigrette into plastic bag and marinate in fridge for at least 30 min. (I did it for an hour). Place chicken breast (upside down) on grill (discard marinade) and grill covered about 6-7 min. Flip chicken and grill covered for about 5 min. Then place 1 tblsp marinara on each chicken breast, 2 basil leaves on each, 1/4 c artichokes on each, 2 slices of tomato and 1 tblsp cheese. Grill until cheese is melted and starting to brown and make sure the chicken is no longer pink. Add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

