Blueberry Coffee Cake

Standard

blueberry walnut coffee cake

So while I was away at my Aunt Lois’s for Memorial Day weekend we did a lot in the kitchen. Besides making meals we picked, cleaned and chopped a whole lot of rhubarb so I could bring some home! I’ll share my Strawberry Rhubarb Pie recipe a different day! It is delish!! Before we did all that we made this yummy coffee cake that we could enjoy after we were done with all the rhubarb business. It was amazing!!! It is versatile too, you could easily swap out blueberries for raspberries or strawberries and use whichever nut you like best. My aunt and I love walnuts best so that’s what we chose to use. Remember I was on vacation so I did indulge in some sugary sweets, but in moderation is ok! I like making these sweet treats myself so I know exactly what is going in them and I can control the sweetness. This treat is extra sweet, but like I said, in moderation! Enjoy!!!

1 c fresh blueberries

3 tbsp brown sugar

1 c flour (I used whole wheat)

1/3 c sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1 egg

1/2 c plain greek yogurt or sour cream (I used yogurt)

3 tbsp butter, melted

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 c heaping chopped walnuts

ICING:

1/4 c powdered sugar

1-1/2 tsp milk

1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl combine blueberries and brown sugar, set aside.

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, and salt. In a small mixing bowl, whisk the egg, yogurt, butter and vanilla. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients just until mixed and moistened.

Scoop half of the batter into a greased 8×8 baking dish and spread to cover bottom using spatula or your hands. (Tip: spray your hands with cooking spray and the batter won’t stick to you!) Top with blueberries and sugar mix. Drop remaining batter by teaspoonfulls over berries, spread it out a bit with your hands. Sprinkle walnuts on top.

Bake for 30 min or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 15 minutes. While cooling mix ingredients for icing. After cooled, drizzle with icing. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

