Sunday Chicken Dinner

Standard

oven fried chicken, cole slaw and biscuits

I was a busy lady in the kitchen today. I made blueberry corn muffins, homemade chicken stock and a very tasty Sunday chicken dinner! It was fabulous! It was even better than KFC!! I made oven fried chicken legs, homemade cole slaw, mashed potatoes and garlic cheese biscuits. the chicken and slaw was all homemade, the mashed potatoes were just normal potatoes with milk and butter and I cheated with the biscuits, but they sure were tasty! I’ll share all the recipes! Well except the potatoes because like I said they were just simple mashed potatoes, nothing fancy! Enjoy!!

Oven Fried Chicken

10 chicken legs

2 cups buttermilk

4 tsp paprika

2 tsp garlic powder

few dashes of hot sauce

salt and pepper

1 cup flour (I use whole wheat)

2 tsp paprika

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp garlic powder

salt and pepper

Non stick cooking spray

First, you need to marinate the chicken. Combine the buttermilk, paprika, garlic powder, hot sauce, salt and pepper in a Ziploc bag (I split it into 2 Ziploc bags). Add chicken and toss a bit to coat the chicken. Marinate for 8 hours or overnight works too! Next, combine the flour, paprika, baking powder, garlic, salt and pepper in a Ziploc bag. Add chicken one at a time, close bag and give a good shake. Place chicken on cooling rack placed in a baking dish. Repeat with all chicken. Spray chicken with non stick cooking spray. Bake at 425 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until juices are clear.

Cole Slaw

6 cups shredded cabbage (I shred with my food processer)

1 c shredded carrot

1 cup mayo (I used miracle whip, this is one thing I will not make homemade and the only kraft product I allow myself to buy)

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tsp celery seed

salt and pepper

Add cabbage and carrot to a bowl. In a small bowl whisk the rest of the ingredients. Pour over cabbage and carrots and mix well. Cover and chill to let the flavors enhance!

Garlic Cheese Biscuits

I have a few packages of biscuit mix in my pantry so I decided to use them instead of letting them go to waste.

1 lb package biscuit mix

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp garlic powder

1 cup shredded co jack cheese.

Mix well but do not overmix or you will have tough biscuits. Spray a muffin pan with non stick cooking spray. Scoop mix into pan to make 12 biscuits. I used an ice cream scoop to make even scoops. Works for scooping anything into muffin pans! Bake 450 degrees for 12-13 minutes and tops are just starting to brown.

Leave a comment